Monday, August 27, 2012

Botanical Watercolors at Oliver Wolcott Library for Sept. & Oct.

Located in the historic heart of Litchfield, the Oliver Wolcott Library has a long and fascinating history. The library was founded in 1862 and was named in honor of a generous donation from J. Huntington Wolcott, grandson of Oliver Wolcott, a signer of the Declaration of Independence and the Articles of Confederation. His son, Oliver Wolcott served as Secretary of the Treasury under President George Washington and John Adams as Governor of Connecticut.

The Oliver Wolcott Library is located in a house built by Elijah Wadsworth in 1799. Parties were frequently held in the ballroom on the second floor. It is said that President George Washington danced his last minuet in Litchfield in that ballroom. The ballroom was restored by the Society of Colonial Wars and can be viewed upon request.

Over the years the Library has expanded. A modern structure was added by Eliot Noyes who studied at Harvard and went on to become the Director of the Department of Industrial Design at MOMA in New York. Noyes love of modern design, open spaces and geometry is evident in this expansion that marries a historic house with a modern structure.

Among the many programs offered by the Oliver Wolcott Library, art shows are always popular. From August 28th - October 26th the work of Molly O'Neill-Lally will be featured.  The opening reception will be held on Thursday, September 6, from 5:00-7:00 p.m.

Molly O'Neill-Lally's passion for watercolor painting began under the tutelage of internationally respected painter and illustrator, Arthur Getz, through the Washington Art Association. Years of gardening and encouragement from Getz to "paint what you see" motivated Molly to create watercolor paintings of the variety of flowers she has grown. Her gentle brush strokes, smooth shadows and translucent highlights capture the stunning beauty and delicate nature of every flower she paints.

Molly uses a dry brush watercolor technique and smooth hot pressed paper to achieve a clear representation of flowers during precise phases of growth. At times, she will incorporate different stages of development as well as colored pencil into her stunning botanical paintings. After years of owing a framing business, Molly frames and mats each of her paintings to compliment the individual flower.

In the summer, Molly works from live flowers taken from her garden; in the winter she works from photographs, art books and botanical studies to provide the correct information as to what a flower may look like at a certain point in its development.
The Oliver Wolcott Library is located on 160 South Street, Litchfield, CT. 06759. 860-567-8030.

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

A Taste of Litchfield Hills Aug. 25 - 27

From comfort food to gourmet dishes and live entertainment to an outdoor shopping bazaar, the 27th annual Taste of The Litchfield Hills will offer a menu of fine fare and fun at a new location.
New England's oldest food and wine festival will be held Saturday & Sunday, Aug. 25-26, 2012, at its new location, Harwinton Fairgrounds, 150 Locust Road, Harwinton, Conn.

Since 1985, the festival has annually attracted thousands of guests for a sampling of the region's food and wine, plus upscale shopping and live entertainment.

This year's menu will feature such dishes as BBQ pulled pork, braised short ribs, chicken and black bean chili, fresh prosciutto Panini, lamb shawama pita wrap, lobster hush puppies, lobster mac and cheese, grilled pizza, New England clam chowder, seared sea scallops, sesame chicken and many other items. Sweet offerings will include apple cider cinnamon donuts, banana & toffee pie, fruit smoothies, old fashioned kettle corn, white chocolate apricot squares and many other delicious desserts. The 2012 Menu is available for download at

Foodies will enjoy "grazing-sized" portions of house specialties prepared by chefs from regional restaurants, bistros and other purveyors of fine food with prices ranging from $4.00 to $8.00 per item. Table seating will be available in the festival's Culinary Tent and outdoor picnic pavilions.

Plus, guests are invited to picnic on the grounds with their own lawn chairs and blankets.
Participating culinary vendors will include @ The Corner (Litchfield), Backstage Restaurant (Torrington), Faddy's Donuts & Ice Cream (Bloomfield), The Green Room Café (Winsted), Indochine Pavilion (New Haven), Infinity Bistro (Norfolk), Jake's Wayback Burgers (Torrington), Kelly's Kitchen (Winsted), KJ' Grilled Pizza (Torrington), La Cupola Ristorante & Inn (Litchfield) and Noujaim's Specialty Foods (Torrington).

An assortment of imported Italian wines from Don Tomasi Winery will be available for purchase by the glass. Samuel Adams Boston Lager beer, plus a variety of soft drinks also will be available for purchase.

Live entertainment will include country singer-songwriter Courtney Drummey (Saturday, 12-3 p.m.), jazz recording artists The Christine Spero Group (Saturday, 4-7 p.m.) and blues artists The Andy James Band (Sunday, 1-4 p.m.).

Guests will also enjoy an upscale shopping experience in the festivals outdoor bazaar featuring such unique gift items as artisan-crafted jewelry, gourmet food products, kitchenware and other products and services.

Hours for A Taste of the Litchfield Hills will be 12 to 8 p.m. on Saturday, Aug. 25, 2012, and 12 to 5 p.m. on Sunday, Aug. 26, 2012. Ticket prices are Adult (age 12-64): $10 On-Site or $8 Advance Purchase; Senior (age 65+): $8

On-Site or $6 Advance Purchase; and Child (Under 12): Free admission. Advance tickets and more information are available at Admission does not include food and beverage, which are purchased separately.

Harwinton Fairgrounds is located off Route 4 on Locust Road in Harwinton, Conn., just a few minutes from the intersection of Routes 8 & 118 and is an easy day-trip from Albany, The Berkshires, Hartford, The Hudson Valley, Metro New York, New Haven and Springfield.

With its antique shops, art galleries, covered bridges and quaint villages, the Litchfield Hills is an ideal vacation destination for the three-day holiday weekend. Lodging options include dozens of bed and breakfasts, country inns, resorts, hotels and motels. Tourism information is available from the Western Conn. Convention & Visitors Bureau at 860-567-4506 or

About A Taste of The Litchfield Hills

Since 1985, A Taste of The Litchfield Hills has annually attracted thousands of guests for a sampling of the region's food and locally-produced wine, plus live entertainment and upscale shopping. More Info:

Sunday, August 19, 2012


Lake Compounce!

TV's longest-running scripted show, The Simpsons, is hitting the road and will make an appearance at Lake Compounce's Crocodile Cove Waterpark on Wednesday, August 22nd to host a themed waterpark takeover. Entrance to the event is free with park admission and Crocodile Cove will be open from 12noon to 7:00 P.M. This event is free with admission to the park.

Guests can dive-in and celebrate along with The Simpsons, and be the first to ride a Springfield donut inner tube that would make even Homer jealous. They can also pose for some great family photos with The Simpsons, water park style.

After spending the day at the Simpsons Summer Celebration, families can continue the fun at home with The Simpsons on Blu-ray and DVD. Fans can enjoy exclusive footage and special features available only on these releases. The Simpsons Seasons 1-14 are currently available; Season 15 will be released on December 4, 2012.

About Lake Compounce Lake Compounce
Part of the Palace Entertainment family of parks, is New England's Family Theme Park and the oldest continuously operating amusement park in North America. With the largest water park in Connecticut, and a brand new water slide called Riptide Racer, the park is now in its 167th season. Now open daily. Regular admission price for the 2012 season is $36.99. Junior admission, which is for guests under 52 inches tall, is $26.99. Senior admission, for ages 61 and up, is $18.99. Children 3 years of age and younger are admitted free. Prices subject to change without notice. All tickets and season passes may be purchased by visiting

About Palace Entertainment Palace Entertainment
Owns and operates 40 theme parks, water parks and family entertainment centers nationwide, including Kennywood, Idlewild and Storyland on the east coast. The company entertains millions of guests annually and is one of the largest park operators in the US. For more information, visit

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Pondering the Pond Walk at Weir Farm National Historic Site

Weir Farm Pond
Are you a frequent hiker to the pond at Weir Farm National Historic Site?

Take a closer look.  What may seem like a simple walk to the pond is

actually a complex foray into a cultural landscape.  On Sunday, August 19

from 1:00 to 2:30 p.m., join Park Ranger David Low for a new look at this

popular local trail.  Explore the ways people have shaped their natural

environment, and discover sights that often go unexamined--ones which you

may have passed several times and never thought to consider.  You will find

the Pond Trail has many surprises.  There is no fee to participate, but

registration is required.  To register or for more information, please call

(203) 834-1896 ext. 28.  This is not a strenuous hike, but the walk will

consist of standing with short periods of walking.  Bringing a water bottle

and wearing appropriate footwear is recommended.
About Weir Farm
Weir Farm National Historic Site, the only National Park Service site

dedicated to American painting, was home to three generations of American

artists including Julian Alden Weir, a leading figure in American art and

the development of American Impressionism. Today, the 60-acre farm, which

includes the Weir House, Weir and Young Studios, barns, gardens, and Weir

Pond, is one of the nation’s finest remaining landscapes of American art.

For more information about Weir Farm National Historic Site or the National

Park Service, please visit or call (203)834-1896.

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Kayak to Cockenoe Island on Aug. 18

On Saturday, Saturday, August 18, from 1-3:30 pm the Westport Historical Society is hosting their 3rd annual kayak tour to Cockenoe Island lead by author David Park. The tour group will meet at Longshore Sailing School, Longshore Park, in Westport Connecticut. The cost to participate is $20 for non-members of the Historical Society and $18 for Members. The Raindate is August 19. Kayak rentals are available from Longshore Sailing School, for reservations, call 203-226-4646. Intermediate level kayak ability is required.

Cockenoe Island, is a 28 acre island one mile off the coast of Westport. The tour will be led by David Park, board member of the Norwalk River Watershed Association and author of the guidebook “Kayaking in and around the Norwalk Islands.” This year, the tour is being offered in conjunction with the Westport Historical Society’s current exhibit “The Sound and the Saugatuck” which runs through September 1st.

Cockenoe Island is open to the public thanks to the hundreds of Westport residents and town officials who fought against the proposed construction of a nuclear power plant back in 1967. The plan was brought forward by the United Illuminating Company who had purchased the island a year earlier from the Smith family, the owners of the island at the time. After the plan was defeated, the town of Westport purchased the island as open space and it is now enjoyed by all types of recreational users and nature enthusiasts. The acquisition was heralded as a significant conservation victory for the nation by Life Magazine.

The tour group will land on the island for a stroll and hear about how the Saugatuck River watershed effects the water quality of Long Island Sound and wildlife of the Norwalk Islands. Cockenoe Island is of particular interest because of the current conservation efforts and successful nesting colonies of egrets, herons and terns

Copies of “Kayaking in and around the Norwalk Islands” is available for $10 at the WHS Remarkable Gift Shop, 25 Avery Place in downtown Westport.

About the Westport Historical Society

The Westport Historical Society, founded in 1889, is an educational organization dedicated to preserving, presenting and celebrating the history of Westport, Connecticut. It is committed to increasing awareness of the importance of preserving our town’s heritage and its historic buildings and landmarks.

Wheeler House is the Society’s headquarters, at 25 Avery Place, Westport, Connecticut, was purchased in 1981. The house, built in 1795, was remodeled in the Italianate style in the 19th Century and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and the Connecticut Register of Historic Places. The house has three Victorian Period rooms and a gift shop. The only octagonal-roof, cobblestone barn in Connecticut, which is on the property, was completely restored over a ten-year period and houses the Museum of Westport History displaying a diorama of the town as it looked toward the end of the 19th Century. For additional information on programs visit

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Free August and September Entertainment in Norwalk

Each Wednesday night throughout the summer, area residents can head to Calf Pasture Beach on Calf Pasture Beach Road in Norwalk (06855) to enjoy an evening of free musical entertainment. A $5.00 parking fee is charged for cars without a Norwalk beach sticker.

8/15 6:00 p.m. Classic Car Show – This gathering of than 100 vehicles is hosted by the
Coachmen Rod and Custom Club, an organization of men and women who enjoy classic cars. Owners of 1981 and older cars can participate in the shows, which attract owners from throughout the tri-state area. Each car show participant is asked to contribute canned food or make a donation to the St. Vincent De Paul food bank.

7:00 p.m. The Barons – Return to the 60s and 70s with one of the tri-state’s hottest “oldies” groups. The Barons are known for their 1963 hits, “Pledge of a Fool”, “Remember Rita” on Epic Records, and “Possibility” on Old Town Records under the name of The Crowns. The Barons have shared the stage with such groups as Brenda Lee, Johnny Maestro & The Brooklyn Bridge, The Tokens, The Drifters, The Shangri-las, Lloyd Price, The Del Vikings, TheTeenagers and The Chantels. The vocalists are Led by Ronnie deAngelis, the vocalists are Doug “Ice” Dorsey, Doug Muller and Francine Rodriguez backed by Tommy Ardise (guitar/arranger), Dom “Cuz” Cardamone (keyboard/bass guitar/drums/saxophone), Barry Nardi (bass note/lead guitar), Michael “Stix” Bossone (drums) and Ron Yovino (bass guitar).

8/22 7:00 p.m. Gunsmoke – This award-winning band has been entertaining
Country & Western music fans in the Northeast for more than 20 years. The band now is receiving national attention after its performance on “Ernest Tubb’s Midnight Jamboree,” America’s second longest-running radio show, which is broadcast from Nashville, TN, following “The Grand Ole Opry.” Members of the band are Jeff DeMaio (steel guitar), Nick DeMaio Sr. (acoustic guitar), Nick DeMaio III (bass guitar), Gary Tokarz (drums) and Scott Tyler (electric guitar).

8/29 7:30 p.m. Rockers & Crooners — Connecticut native Billy Genuario has been
performing professionally since age seven. His engagements have taken him from New York City to Las Vegas to Hong Kong, including appearances at The Rainbow Room, Tropicana Hotel, Disney and MGM Grand Arena. This new show featuring great songs and many humorous impressions is a tribute to some of the best singers and bands of our time.


9/5 6:00 p.m. Classic Car Show – This gathering of than 100 vehicles is hosted by the
Coachmen Rod and Custom Club, an organization of men and women who enjoy classic cars. Owners of 1981 and older cars can participate in the shows, which attract owners from throughout the tri-state area. Each car show participant is asked to contribute canned food or make a donation to the St. Vincent De Paul food bank.

7:00 p.m. Déjà Vu – For ten years, this popular group has been performing “golden oldies” at events from New Haven to New York. The group includes Dominick Muro (lead vocals), Tony Masi (keyboards/lead vocals), Arthur Armstrong (lead vocals), George Gionios (saxophone/vocals), Rocco Castango (drums/vocals), John Skrensky (bass guitar/vocals) and Sal
Salta (lead guitar/vocals).

For updates and additional information call the Norwalk Recreation and Parks Office at
203-854-7807. The rain date for all concerts is the following day. For cancellation information call 203-854-7938.

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Sharon Audubon Festival August 11th and 12th

Wendy with Sophia

The 45th annual Sharon Audubon Festival will be taking place at the Sharon Audubon Center, located on Route 4 in Sharon, CT on Saturday and Sunday, August 11th and 12th. The Audubon Festival is an event where people of all ages can learn about nature in a fun and interactive way, and features two full days of nature walks and programs, live animal presentations, children's activities, food, music, exhibits, vendors and more. Whether one is a seasoned naturalist or a young explorer, there are activities for all ages and experience levels.

Two keynote presentations will also take place each day. At 1:00 pm and 3:30 pm on Saturday, Talons will engage visitors with a falconry demonstration. These amazing birds of prey will also be on display throughout the day on Saturday. A live animal show presnted by Rainforest Reptiles known for their dynamic educational programs will take place at 1:00 pm on Sunday afternoon.  The festivities will close on Sunday with Flight of the Raptor, another exciting falconry demonstration back by popular demand.

Erin with a red wing hawk

Scheduled programs take place at 10:00, 10:30, 11:00 and 2:15 each day. Examples of programs include Exploring Bog Meadow by Canoe, Porcupines, Tree Identification Walk, Swarming Behavior of Honey Bees, Bird Banding, Orienteering, Reptiles, Bears, Pressed Flower Bookmarks and much more. Ongoing activities such as a live animal exhibits from the Beardsley Zoo and Wonders on Wheels and the children's Merry Marsh Activity Tent, as well as various vendors, will be on hand throughout each day. Food is also available for purchase.

Gates are open from 9:30am-5: 30pm each day. No pets are allowed inside the gates. Admission is $7 for adults and $5 for children ages 12 and under. A complete schedule and description of programs can be found at or by calling 860-364-0520 for more information.

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Fly and Tour a Legacy – B-17 Returns to Oxford- Waterbury Airport

Flying Fortress

 “Aluminum Overcast," the Experimental Aircraft Association's (EEA) restored B-17 bomber, will descend upon Waterbury-Oxford Airport in Oxford, Connecticut (330 Christian St.) on August 7-8 as part of its 2012 "Salute to Veterans" national tour.  The "Aluminum Overcast" presents an opportunity for the public to experience, firsthand, the allure of this historic war bird on the ground and in flight that helped turn the tide of World War II.

"Aluminum Overcast" brings a living link of aviation's and World War II's past for people of all ages to enjoy. Known as "The Flying Fortress," the B-17 bomber is considered one of the greatest military airplanes ever built and one of the best- known aircraft types of the World War II era.
History comes alive as you step back in time and imagine the role of bombardier, navigator, and waist gunner as you walk around this magnificent aircraft. This authentic and unforgettable experience allows visitors to relive the legacy of the thousands who heroically flew World War II bombing missions.  

Among the original military equipment restored to EAA’s B-17 are the installation of a replica top turret just behind the pilot and co-pilot seats, waist guns located on each side of the bomber, rebuilding the radio compartment (including original communication).

EAA's "Aluminum Overcast" B-17 was built in 1945, but was delivered to the Army Air Corps too late to see active service in World War II.  In 1981 this B-17 was donated to the EAA Aviation Foundation with the provision that the aircraft be maintained in airworthy condition. After being displayed at the EAA Air Venture Museum in Oshkosh, Wis., for a decade, the B-17 made its national tour debut in the spring of 1994.

At each stop, flight "missions" are available.  For more information, including rates for flights and ground tours, visit or contact EAA's B-17 Tour Office at 800-359-6217. Special pre-book rates on flights are available for EAA members and non-members.  Flight purchase is also available on site. 

Don't miss out on the opportunity to take a mission flight or ground tour when Aluminum Overcast comes to Oxford –Waterbury Airport.  

World War II veteran Kenneth Davis looks out of the waist gunner’s window. Davis served on a B-17 in the 15th Air Force, 483rd Bomb Group, 815th Squadron.

Ground Tours 2-5 p.m.;
weather permitting
$10 Individual Rate
Family Rate: $20
(adults & children up to age 17; immediate family)
Free: Children under 8
(with paying adult)

Free: Veterans / Active Military  

Mission Flights
10 a.m.-2 p.m.,
weather permitting
EAA Members
EAA Members

About The Boeing B-17 "Flying Fortress
The Boeing B-17 "Flying Fortress" is a World War II bomber used primarily in Europe. B-17s from the Eighth Air Force participated in countless missions from bases in England. These missions often lasted for more than eight hours and struck at targets deep within enemy territory. Because of their long-range capability, formations of B-17s often flew into battle with no fighter escort, relying on their own defensive capabilities to ensure a successful mission.

During the war, B-17s were among the most modern aircraft in the U.S. inventory. However, the advent of the jet age and advances in technology made the Flying Fortress obsolete soon after the conclusion of the war. In the years following World War II, most B-17s were cut up for scrap, used in Air Force research or sold on the surplus market.

In 1934, the Boeing Aircraft Company of Seattle, Wash., began construction of a four-engine heavy bomber. Known as the Boeing model 299, it first took flight on July 28, 1935. The government ordered production of 13 of these aircraft, now designated the Y1B-17. Delivery of these first production models was between January 11 and August 4, 1937.

The B-17 received the name "Flying Fortress" from a Seattle reporter who commented on its defensive firepower. The B-17 underwent a number of improvements over its 10-year production span. Models ranged from the YB-17 to the B-17-G model. Throughout the war, the B-17 was refined and improved as battle experience showed the Boeing designers where improvements could be made. 
The final B-17 production model, the B-17G, was produced in larger quantities (8,680) than any previous model and is considered the definitive "Flying Fort." With its 13 .50-caliber machine guns – chin, top, ball and tail turrets; waist and cheek guns – the B-17G was indeed an airplane that earned the respect of its combatants. In addition, air crews liked the B-17 for its ability to withstand heavy combat damage and still return its crew safely home.
Between 1935 and May of 1945, 12,732 B-17s were produced. Of these aircraft, 4,735 were lost during combat missions.

Today, fewer than 100 B-17 airframes exist and fewer still are in airworthy condition. At one time, more than 1,000 B-17s could be assembled for mass combat missions, less than 15 of Boeing's famous bombers can still take to the air.

About EEA
EAA, a non-profit membership organization based in Oshkosh, Wisconsin that embodies the spirit of aviation through the world's most engaged community of aviation enthusiasts. EAA's 170,000 members and 1,000 local chapters enjoy the fun and camaraderie of sharing their passion for flying, building and restoring recreational aircraft. For more information on EAA and its programs, call 800-JOIN-EAA (800-564-6322) or go to For continual news updates, connect with

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

August Events at the Fairfield History Museum

War of 1812 Exhibit through September

For the dog days of summer, why not visit Fairfield Museum and History Center's ( new, special art exhibition, The War of 1812 at Sea: Marine Paintings from the J. Russell Jinishian Gallery collection, Fairfield, Conn. (    The exhibition, which will be on display through September 9th, 2012, will chronicle the great sea battles around the War of 1812, some of which occurred off the Connecticut Coast, and will feature dramatic marine paintings and models from art dealer J. Russell Jinishian.

The War of 1812 at Sea exhibition will include 16 works, including two intricate models, from some of the most prominent marine artists working today.  The paintings and models in this exhibition capture pivotal moments during the War of 1812, a troubled and dark time for our young nation and for Fairfield as well.

In addition to this fascinating exhibit other events hosted by the Museum include the following events.

A Docent Meeting on Thursday, August 9 at 2:30 p.m wil introduce participants to Fairfield's past. If you have a knack for telling a good story this program could be just for you.  The Fairfield Museum and History Center hopes to introduce participants to the importance of becoming a docent and sharing the history of Fairfield. Refreshments will be served. For more information and to RSVP, please call Christine Jewell, Director of Education at 203-259-1598.

On Saturday, August 18, at 2 p.m. the Fairfield Museum will feature a Town Hall Green Walking Tour that is expected to last one to two hours. On the tour, you wil learn about the fascinating colonial history of Fairfield, including the establishment of the town's original "four squares" in 1639 and the historic British invasion that took place in 1779. Participants will learn about the "witch dunking experiment" at Edward's Pond, the legacy of the Sun Tavern and more.  $7; Members, $5. Please pre-register by calling 203-259-1598.

If you find walking an enjoyable way to experience a town center, then make sure to pick up a colorful new brochure at the Museum and follow the nine new signs created jointly by the Museum and the town of Fairfield. Visitors can begin their exploration of this intriguing historic site at the introductory sign adjacent to the Fairfield Museum and History Center and discover the hidden corners of Fairfield's fascinating past.

A special summer treat is a tour of the Ogden House built in 1750 on Sundays from 1 pm - 4 pm through September.  Visitors will enjoy docent-led tours of the 1750 Ogden House and see how people lived in the 18th century. The house is furnished with period objects including textiles and fine pieces of furniture with Fairfield provenance. Participants will be invited to take a stroll through the not-to-be-missed kitchen garden, generously maintained by the Fairfield Garden Club, and view plantings used in colonial times.  The Ogden House is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and is an exceptional survivor of a typical mid-18th century farmhouse.

If summer camps are your thing, Fairfield History Museum is also offering a series of camps through August.  Camp goers will explore history and culture in a creative and fun learning environment at the Fairfield Museum and History Center. Programs include sessions about the early settlers and how children lived in the past, through historic house tours, the garden, cooking, games, arts and crafts and more at the 1750 Ogden House and the Fairfield Museum. Campers will explore the secret corners of the house and learn its mysteries! The final day will be spent at the Fairfield Museum where students will experience a day in the life of a student in the 1804 Academy Schoolhouse and learn to use antique tools in the Victorian Barn. For more information and to register, please call 203-259-1598 or visit The August sessions runs as follows:

Session 1:  August 13 – 17    9am – 12pm Grades 1 – 2
Session 2: August 13 – 17       1pm – 4pm Grades 3 - 5
Session 3: August 20 – 24     9am – 12pm Grades 1 – 2
Session 4:  August 20 – 24     1pm –4pm   Grades 3 – 5
$175 Each Session + $50 family membership

Fairfield Museum and History Center ( was established in 2007 by the Fairfield Historical Society. The 13,000 square-foot museum presents engaging exhibition galleries, a special collection library and reading room, a family education center, an 80-seat theater overlooking Fairfield's Town Green and a delightful museum shop.  The Museum is dedicated to collecting, preserving and interpreting the history of Fairfield, Connecticut and surrounding regions for present and future generations.  The Museum provides educational programs to schools in and around Fairfield County, and helps to enrich the cultural and social life of the area.  The Museum has quickly become an integral part of Fairfield, serving nearly 18,000 visitors a year.